Bride and groom seated together on a wooden staircase in red and cream wedding dress

Oshwal Centre, Northaw: Wedding Halls and Photography

Two wedding halls of 450 each and a Jain Derasar in its own gardens, set in more than 70 acres of Hertfordshire countryside.

★★★★★ Rated 4.8 from 580+ reviews

Wedding photography from £750

Bespoke packages · fast response · free consultation

The Oshwal Centre on Coopers Lane Road in Northaw is run by the Oshwal Association of the UK, which describes itself as the largest Jain organisation in the country. Its own page for the Centre is short: two large wedding halls of 450 each, the smaller Oshwal House, a Derasar (Jain temple) in landscaped gardens and grounds of more than 70 acres. Much of what circulates online about the venue, including bigger capacities and car park counts, comes from third-party sites rather than from the Association, so this guide keeps to what the Centre itself publishes.

Our studio is at 21 Joel St, Northwood HA6, and Kaushik has photographed weddings since 2001. We are glad to photograph at the Oshwal Centre, and coverage starts from £750.

Oshwal Centre: halls, grounds and contact

AddressCoopers Lane Road, Northaw, Hertfordshire EN6 4DG
Run byThe Oshwal Association of the UK
Wedding hallsTwo large halls, each stated at 450 capacity
Smaller eventsOshwal House: 120 standing, 100 theatre style, 75 seated with tables
GroundsIn excess of 70 acres, with a children's playground
TempleDerasar in its own landscaped gardens, open 9am to 4pm, 7 days a week
Office hours9am to 5pm, 7 days a week. Tel 01707 643838, admin@oshwal.org
Hire pricesNot published. Bookings and enquiries direct with the Centre
Food and alcohol rulesNot published on the Centre's own pages. Ask before you brief a caterer
Civil ceremoniesNot stated on the Centre's own pages
ParkingOn site (the car park was reconfigured in 2008 to 2010). No space count or charge published
Nearest stationsPotters Bar (rail) and Cockfosters (Piccadilly line), each a short taxi journey
From our studioAbout 12.9 miles in a straight line from the studio at 21 Joel St, Northwood HA6 1NU (road distance is longer)

Figures are as published by the venue or its licensing authority. Where a venue's own pages disagree, both are shown. Confirm anything you are planning around.

Sources

Oshwal, Kadwa Patidar and Sattavis compared

These three Gujarati community centres sit within a few miles of one another, and what each one publishes differs a great deal. Kadwa Patidar sets out its food, drink and hire rules in an FAQ; Sattavis publishes parking and dry hire in its own blog posts; the Oshwal Centre's own page gives capacities and little else. Where a venue does not state something on its own pages, this table says so rather than filling the gap.

Oshwal CentreKadwa Patidar CentreSattavis Patidar Centre
FoodNot published on the Centre's own pagesNon-vegetarian allowedNot published
AlcoholNot published on the Centre's own pagesAllowed, but not for saleNot published
Hire modelNot published. Hall bookings direct with the CentreDry hire only: your own caterer and decoratorDry hire available with your own caterer; in-house catering also promoted
Largest spaceTwo wedding halls of 450 each450 banqueting in the main hall, 200 in the dining hall500 dining in the Mostyn Suite
ParkingOn site. No space count publishedAbout 130 to 135 in two car parks; extra school parking at a charge220 free spaces, no time limit
Civil ceremoniesNot stated on the Centre's own pagesNo civil licence published; religious weddings can be registered on site the same dayHosted; registrar booked through Brent register office
Finish timeNot publishedVacate by midnightNot published

As published by each venue or its licensing authority. Where a venue does not publish a policy it is shown as not published rather than inferred. Confirm anything you are planning around.

Hire cost and capacity: what the Oshwal Centre publishes

The Oshwal Centre publishes no hire prices or packages. Its contact page directs hall bookings and enquiries to the Centre by phone or email, so a quote has to come from the Centre itself.

On capacity, the Centre's own page states two large wedding halls of 450 people each. Higher figures, such as 500 per hall, appear only on third-party sites, so plan around 450 until the Centre confirms otherwise in writing. For smaller celebrations the refurbished Oshwal House takes 120 standing, 100 in theatre style and 75 seated at tables. The halls opened in August 1990 and were refurbished in spring 2014, according to the Association's history page.

Food, drink and ceremony rules: ask the Centre in writing

The Centre's own pages say nothing about wedding rules: no food or alcohol policy for hall hire, no civil ceremony licence, no curfew and no terms of hire are published online. Rules of that kind may well exist in the hire agreement, so treat every one of them as a question to settle in writing before you book.

  • Food and drink. Ask whether vegetarian-only, egg-free or alcohol-free rules apply to hall hire, and whether they cover guests and suppliers bringing things in.
  • Caterers. Ask whether outside caterers are allowed, whether there is a preferred list and whether any fee applies.
  • Civil ceremony. Ask whether the legal ceremony can be held on site, or whether you need a register office first.
  • Havan or agni. No open-flame rule is published. Ask directly and do not assume it is allowed.
  • Baraat. Nothing is published on procession space, dhol or horses.
  • Finish time. No vacate-by time is published. Get it into the hire agreement.

Photography rules at the Oshwal Centre and the Derasar

Photography during the ceremonyNot published
Photography in or near the DerasarNot published. Ask before planning any portraits by the temple
FlashNot published
DronesNot published
ConfettiNot published
Candles and open flameNot published, including any havan rule
Finish timeNot published

Where a rule is shown as not published, ask the venue in writing before the day.

Getting ready before an Oshwal Centre wedding

The Centre's current pages name no changing rooms or bridal preparation room. Ask the Centre what is available on your date; if nothing is offered, plan preparation coverage at home or at a hotel and allow travel time to Northaw.

Planning an Oshwal Centre wedding day

WhenWhat happens
MorningGetting ready at home or at a hotel, unless the Centre confirms a preparation room for your booking.
CeremonyHindu or Jain ceremony in one of the two 450-capacity halls. Agree in advance whether any photographs near the Derasar are permitted.
PortraitsThe grounds run to more than 70 acres. Use the light table below for the month, and allow walking time from the hall.
ReceptionLunch or dinner and speeches. No finish time is published, so plan the last hour of coverage back from the time in your hire agreement.

An outline for planning, not a schedule. Times are shown only where the venue publishes them; everything else is a stage to time with you and confirm with the venue.

Light by month over the Northaw grounds

MonthSunriseSunsetGolden hour fromClock
January08:0116:2015:22GMT
February07:1517:1516:26GMT
March06:1518:0517:20GMT
April06:0519:5719:12BST
May05:0820:4619:56BST
June04:4221:2120:26BST
July05:0021:1320:20BST
August05:4520:2419:37BST
September06:3519:1618:32BST
October07:2418:0817:21BST
November07:1916:1115:17GMT
December08:0015:5114:49GMT

Computed for the 15th of each month of 2027 at the venue's postcode centroid with the NOAA solar equations. Evening golden hour starts when the sun drops to 6 degrees; trees and buildings shorten it. Times are UK clock time.

Two halls under one roof, and a temple in the grounds

  • Two halls under one roof mean ceremony and reception can both run on site. Ask how long a changeover between them takes, because that decides whether family groups fit inside it.
  • More than 70 acres of grounds and the Derasar's landscaped gardens are possible portrait settings, but the Centre publishes no rule on using them. Agree access before the day.
  • No parking count is published, so ask the Centre how many cars the site takes before you set arrival times for a 450-guest hall.
  • Office hours run 9am to 5pm daily, which is the window for settling access, timings and rules by phone.

Halls opened in 1990, refurbished in 2014

The Association's history page records the foundation stone being laid in July 1988, the halls opening in August 1990 and a refurbishment of the halls in spring 2014; the car park was reconfigured and renovated between 2008 and 2010. The site sits in countryside at Northaw, with the Derasar standing in manicured landscape gardens and a purpose-built children's playground in the grounds.

Northaw, Potters Bar and Cockfosters

For satnav: Coopers Lane Road, Northaw, Hertfordshire EN6 4DG. The Centre names Cockfosters on the Piccadilly line as the nearest Underground station and Potters Bar as the nearest rail station, each a short taxi journey away. By bus, the 298 from Cockfosters or the 84 to Potters Bar bus station leaves a walk of 22 to 35 minutes, so guests arriving by train should book taxis ahead. We travel to Northaw from our Northwood studio.

Oshwal Centre wedding photography, frequently asked questions

What is the capacity of the Oshwal Centre wedding halls?

The Oshwal Association's own page for the Centre states two large wedding halls with a capacity of 450 people each. Figures of 500 per hall circulate online, but they come from third-party sites rather than the Association, so plan your numbers on 450 until the Centre confirms a different figure in writing. For a smaller family celebration, the refurbished Oshwal House holds 120 standing, 100 in theatre style or 75 seated at tables. Because the two wedding halls share one building, it is worth asking how a ceremony and reception would be split between them.

How much does it cost to hire the Oshwal Centre?

The Centre does not publish hire prices, packages or a rate card on its website. Its contact page asks anyone with hall bookings or enquiries to contact the Centre directly, by telephone on 01707 643838 or by email to admin@oshwal.org, and the office is open from 9am to 5pm seven days a week. Ask for the quote in writing, together with the hire terms, the finish time and any rules on food, drink and outside caterers, since none of these appear on the Centre's own pages either.

Is there parking at the Oshwal Centre?

There is a car park on site: the Association's history page records it being reconfigured and renovated between 2008 and 2010. What the Centre does not publish is how many cars it holds, whether parking is charged or what happens on a busy day, and the often quoted figure of 500 spaces comes from a third-party site. Ask the Centre before setting arrival times. For guests without a car, Potters Bar station and Cockfosters Underground are each a short taxi ride away.

Can you have alcohol or meat at an Oshwal Centre wedding?

The Centre's own pages publish no food or alcohol policy for hall hire, so this guide cannot answer it either way. The Oshwal Association is a Jain organisation and the site includes a Derasar, so ask the Centre directly, before you brief a caterer, whether vegetarian-only, egg-free or alcohol-free rules apply, and whether they also cover anything guests or suppliers bring in. Ask in the same message whether outside caterers are allowed and whether a preferred list or fee applies.

Can we take photographs at the Derasar?

The Derasar stands in its own landscaped gardens within the grounds and is open from 9am to 4pm every day, according to the Centre's page. No rule on wedding photography inside the temple, in its gardens or anywhere else on site is published. Agree with the Centre before the day where portraits may be taken and whether the temple and its gardens are off limits during your booking, so the plan for family groups and couple portraits does not depend on a decision made on the day.

Our work

Asian wedding photography

Bride in red with gold bridal jewellery
Bride's mehndi-decorated hands, red and white bangles and a rose
Bride in red and groom in cream in front of a glasshouse and formal gardens
Bride and groom in a park, groom in a turban and kalgi
Groom carrying his bride through shallow water at golden hour
Bride in red and groom in cream leaning together on a decorated stage

Kaushik Bathia, established 2001, FBIPP and FMPA, five European Kodak Gold Awards, photographs every wedding himself and travels to any venue from the Northwood studio.

Civil · Church · Hindu · Sikh · Muslim · Tamil

Planning a wedding at Oshwal Centre?

Tell us the date and the venue and we will come back with availability and a price. Coverage starts from £750.

No obligation. How we use your details